Cards · Hints & Tips · Rules

Monuments

What Are Monuments?

Monuments in Eternal are classed as Power cards and are added to your deck build like any other card. They can be used to give you power but their strength is in what happens once your power reaches a certain level.

How To Use Monuments

At the beginning of a game, Monuments are equivalent to depleted power sigils. If played they count as a single extra Power & Influence point which can’t be used until the next turn. This is a waste and should only be done in an emergency.

Monuments only become effective when your total power (regardless of influence) reaches the required level specified on the card. Then the Transmute ability kicks in and every copy of the Monument – in your hand and in your deck – turns into the replacement specified in the card text.

Note that this transformation is automatic and does not cost you power – it only requires that your maximum power reach a certain level. However you still need to spend power to actually play the transmuted card.

So why would you use monuments? Why clutter up your deck with cards that can’t initially be used? Well, when the monument does transmute, the card it turns into is normally more powerful than would be expected for its cost. So you’re exchanging the chance of playing the card early for better value later. And if absolutely necessary you have the option to use the untransmuted Monument in a power famine situation.

List Of Monuments

Currently (December 2018) there are five monuments in the game, one for each faction.

Name Faction Transmute Level Transmute Result
Amber Monument Time 5 5/5 Rhinarc with Overwhelm
Amethyst Monument Shadow 5 4/4 Puma with Lifesteal
Cobalt Monument Primal 5 4/4 Stormdancer with Flying
Emerald Monument Justice 5 +3/+3 Gemblade
Granite Monument Fire 5 4/2 Magnahound with Charge